Syllas Tzoumerkas was born in 1978 in Thessaloniki. He grew up in Thessaloniki, Kilkis and Nissyros. His feature films Homeland (2010), A Blast (2014) and The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea (2019), had their world premieres in the Venice, Locarno and Berlin International Film Festivals, respectively, participated in over 200 festivals around the world, and were released in theatres and streaming platforms in many countries. He co-wrote the scripts of Argyris Papadimitropoulos’ Suntan (Rotterdam / SXSW 2016) and All This Victory by Ahmad Ghossein (Venice, 2019). In theatre and multi-platform works, he collaborated with Youla Boudali, the blitz theatre group, Onassis Stegi, the Greek National Opera, and others. He is currently co-directing with Christos Passalis the essay-fiction film/installation The City and the City and developing his upcoming feature film My Soul Startled. 

2019 The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea
2017 A Manifesto for the Un-communal (short)
2014 A Blast
2010 Homeland
2002 Rain (short)
2001 The Devouring Eyes (short)

My Soul Startled
The City and The City (co-directing with Christos Passalis)

Copyright © 2021 Syllas Tzoumerkas / Facebook / / Top